Mitchell Peters

The Percussive Arts Society or PAS, which is the world’s largest percussion organization, has just announced their hall of fame inductees for 2018. The three inductees include Mitchell Peters, Joe Porcaro, and, Richard Weiner. Mitchell Peters unfortunately passed away last year at the age of 82 however, he was a timpanist and percussionist for the Los Angeles Philharmonic. Prior to his retirement in 2006 Peters had performed with the likes of Zubin Mehta, Carlo-Maria Giulini and Leonard Berstein, just to name a few. Peter’s timpani work can be heard on ABC’s World News Tonight‘s opening theme as well as the motion picture The Year We Make Contact (2010), and the original Battlestar Galactica.

Richard Weiner

Joining Mitchell Peters is fellow percussionist Richard Weiner (also retired) who served as the principal percussionist to the Cleveland Orchestra and he also co-chaired the PAS symphonic committee. In 2011 Weiner received The Cleveland Orchestra Distinguished Service Award which is presented in recognition of extraordinary service to The Cleveland Orchestra.

Last, but certainly not least, is the consummate percussionist/drummer and epic legend, Joe Porcaro. Joe’s extensive resume includes stints with Stan Getz, Gerry Mulligan, Freddie Hubbard, Don Ellis and rock/pop artists such as TOTO and Madonna. In addition to that, Joe has performed on various television and movie soundtracks and if that was not enough, Joe has also been a driving force in teaching music and drums as he is the current co-director of drum studies at the Los Angeles College of Music in Pasadena, California. Impressively, Joe continues to perform today.

Joe Porcaro

In the case of Joe Porcaro we were fortunate enough to hear from Rich Mangicaro–also a staple in the music industry–who has been a long time supporter of Mr. Porcaro. Rich directed us to his Facebook page where he posted this about Mr. P.:

We certainly want to congratulate all the inductees and also remember Mitchell Peters. We also want to recognize Rich Mangicaro for his hard work as it relates to Joe Porcaro’s induction, an honor that is very well deserved. Finally, we want to congratulate PAS for making some excellent selections. Good job by all.

Ken “K Bo” Biedzynski, Editor