For those of you keeping score, Tom DeLonge–the notable singer, songwriter, producer and, entrepreneur–was the frontman for the rock/punk band, Blink-182. A well known split occurred between DeLonge and band members Travis Barker (drums) and Mark Hoppus (bass) and speculation has since swirled about the future of the band; with or without DeLonge. However, with a new tour and new record sans DeLonge, the band appears to be moving on without him; or are they?


Blink-182 (Travis Barker (l.), Matt Skiba (c.) and, Mark Hoppus (r.))

Despite everything that has happened DeLonge just released the following statement which seems to suggest that perhaps the original trio is not yet over despite the fact that he (i.e., DeLonge) is not on the new record or on the upcoming tour. In other words, DeLonge is still in the mix, at least according to DeLonge.

Editor’s Note: In an interview with Rolling Stone from just this past week DeLonge insisted he is still in the band and that he did not quit.

Tom DeLonge
Tom DeLonge

DeLonge said:

Hi everybody-
I understand all the craziness out there in Internet-land, it is an odd time for fans of the Blink-182 legacy, I know- It’s odd for me, too.
Well, I met with Mark yesterday, and Travis the week before…. I actually talk to Travis almost every day, now.
The answer is this:
We DO have a future together if we want it, but for now we are busy doing separate things. I am directing a movie this summer, releasing a couple more albums of music and digging deeper into my Sekret Machines Project with the US DOD.
I know people are comparing the Angels and Airwaves Chasing Shadows EP to the new Blink-182 music, and that is a failed task. We are different people after different things. For one, I think having a song-writer that came in on the Blink album (Feldy- 5 Seconds of Summer, Good Charlotte) was something they felt was necessary, and that in itself may be an indicator of some of our current artistic differences that are difficult to overcome. At the time, I was recording the song NEW WORLD (on the DEMOS album titled after my own name) and that was my personal opinion of where we could possibly take Blink for the next album. But we are at different places in our minds, careers and goals, I get it.
But that said, I obviously want them to make the music they wish. I have always been thankful for them in my life, but I am a forward thinking artist, and sometimes that leads me down a different path- That is why I have done other projects like: Box Car Racer, Angels and Airwaves- LOVE 1 & 2, AND The Dream Walker etc…
I look forward to my upcoming adventures, and a hell of a lot more…
….Maybe even a bit of Blink-182 if we can build back that “special something” that was once there.

DeLonge’s statement comes on the heels of the band announcing the release of their first album without him. The record is entitled California and it is due out on July 1 which is the 182nd day of the year. Replacing DeLonge on the record and the upcoming tour is singer-guitarist Matt Skiba. California will feature 16 tracks which include:

1. Cynical
2. Bored to Death
3. She’s out of Her Mind
4. Los Angeles
5. Sober
6. Built This Pool
7. No Future
8. Home Is Such a Lonely Place
9. Kings of the Weekend
10. Teenage Satellites
11. Left Alone
12. Rabbit Hole
13. San Diego
14. The Only Thing That Matters
15. California
16. Brohemian Rhapsody

The accompanying tour kicks off in San Diego on July 22 and ends on October 1 in Los Angeles. Joining Blink-182 on the 2016 tour is All Time Low and on select dates either A Day To Remember or the All-American Rejects.

Despite what DeLonge said, keep in mind that last year Skiba was asked about whether he could ever see himself as a “permanent member” of Blink-182. In response Skiba was non-committal however, he did say this (in terms of what might indicate he’s permanent): “If we’re discussing recording an album, I think that seals the deal.”

Editor’s Note: Check out the 2015 interview with Skiba which appeared in Alternative Press.

Ken “K Bo” Biedzynski, Editor




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here