The 2017 nominees for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame have been announced, and this year’s group of nominees has some clear winners in our opinion. This year’s first-time nominees are Bad Brains, Depeche Mode, Electric Light Orchestra, Jane’s Addiction, Joan Baez, Journey, Pearl Jam, Steppenwolf and, Tupac Shakur and these magnificent artists join prior nominees which include Chaka Khan, Chic, Janet Jackson, J. Geils Band, Joe Tex, Kraftwerk, MC5, The Cars, The Zombies and, Yes.
Editor’s Note: Everyone is entitled to their opinion but in ours it is mind-boggling that The Cars, Yes, and Janet Jackson have not already been inducted. However, when you consider that Bad Company has never been nominated, nor has Barry White, The Carpenters, Def Leppard, The Doobie Brothers, nor Emerson, Lake & Palmer, then one is not shocked at this result.
Eligibility requires that the artist must have released their first single or album at least 25 years prior to the year of nomination and for this class, that means that the 2017 nominees had to have released their first recording by no later than 1991. The inductees will be announced in December and the ceremony will take place at Barclays Center in Brooklyn next April. R and R HOF 2017
Voters should visit the Rock’s website to vote which you can access here.
Ken “K Bo” Biedzynski, Editor